Yusuf Azeem Is Not a Hero by Saadia Faruqi

$16.99

In stock

SKU: 9780062943255 Categories: , ,

Description

A powerful and relevant story from the author of A Thousand Questions, about friendship, pride, grief, and standing up for what is right. The ideal next read for fans of Hena Khan, Jewell Parker Rhodes, and Varian Johnson—or for any young reader grappling with recent US history and current events.

Yusuf Azeem has spent all his life in the small town of Frey, Texas—and nearly that long waiting for the chance to participate in the regional robotics competition, which he just knows he can win.

Only, this year is going to be more difficult than he thought. Because this year is the twentieth anniversary of the 9/11 terrorist attacks—an anniversary that has everyone in his family on edge. After reading his uncle’s journal from that time, Yusuf feels like he almost understands what the nation’s fear and anger felt like.

With “Never Forget” banners everywhere and a hostile group of townspeople protesting the new mosque, Yusuf realizes that the anger hasn’t gone away. And soon, he will have to stand up to the bullies, with understanding, justice, and love.

Yusuf Azeem Is Not a Hero by Saadia Faruqi
Epilogue BCB

FREE
VIEW