When You Look Like Us by Pamela N. Harris

$17.99

In stock

SKU: 9780062945891 Categories: , ,

Description

A timely, gripping YA debut perfect for fans of Jason Reynolds and Tiffany D. Jackson, about a boy who must take up the search for his sister when she goes missing from a neighborhood where black girls’ disappearances are too often overlooked.

When you look like us—brown skin, brown eyes, black braids or fades—people think you’re trouble. No one looks twice at a missing black girl from public housing because she must’ve brought whatever happened to her upon herself. I, Jay Murphy, can admit that, for a minute, I thought my sister, Nicole, got too caught up with her boyfriend—a drug dealer—and his friends. But she’s been gone too long now.

If I hadn’t hung up on her that night, she’d be spending time with our grandma. If I was a better brother, she’d be finishing senior year instead of being another name on a missing persons list. It’s time to step up and do what the Newport News police department won’t.

Nic, I’m bringing you home.

When You Look Like Us by Pamela N. Harris
Epilogue BCB

FREE
VIEW