The Work Wife by Alison B. Hart

$27.99

Told over the course of a single day and from three fierce perspectives, The Work Wife is a richly observed novel about female ambition, complicity, privilege, and what happens when the brightest of stars aren’t allowed to shine.

In stock

Description

Our Bookseller says:

Words cannot encompass the brilliancy of this novel. In a dazzling debut, Hart captures the many different facets of womanhood and ambition, of feminism and hypocrisy, and of the many levels of sacrifice women give for careers, family, and themselves. Not to mention this all takes place in Hollywood, where beauty is just as powerful a currency as money. What choice is the right choice when it comes to self-preservation and solidarity with other women? What would you sacrifice to a man’s ego if it meant living debt free, or achieving your dreams, or keeping your family whole? Hart could not have made a more stunning debut. The Work Wife is my favorite addition to my shelves. – Laney

For fans of Meg Wolitzer and Kiley Reid, The Work Wife is an upmarket feminist debut set over the course of a single day, about three women connected to a billionaire film mogul—his thirty-eight-year-old personal assistant, his hostess wife, and his former business partner—whose lives collide at a Hollywood party with explosive consequences.

“A page-turner, an eye-opener, a heartbreaker, a delight, The Work Wife is that rare book that illuminates a world we never knew existed while also making us feel so much less alone in everyday life.” —Julia Phillips, author of National Book Award finalist Disappearing Earth

“Hart’s knowing, ripped-from-the-headlines debut… flies on a magic carpet of seamless, intricate detail… There’s never a moment’s slip in authenticity or momentum… One hell of a debut.” —Kirkus Reviews (STARRED REVIEW)

Three fierce women. A Hollywood party. One explosive secret.

Zanne Klein never planned to be a personal assistant to Hollywood royalty Ted and Holly Stabler. But a decade in, at thirty-eight, that’s exactly how she spends her days, earning six figures to make sure the movie mogul and his family have everything they could ever dream of, and more.

However, today is no ordinary day at the Stabler estate. Tonight, everyone who’s anyone will be there for the Hollywood event of the season, and if the party’s a success, that chief-of-staff job Zanne’s been chasing may soon be hers. Which means she can buy a house, give her girlfriend the life she deserves, pay off her student loans.

Nothing’s going to get in Zanne’s way—not disgruntled staff, not a nosy reporter, not even a runaway hostess. But when Ted’s former business partner, Phoebe Lee, unexpectedly shows up right before go-time, Zanne suddenly has a catastrophe unfolding before her—one with explosive consequences. As the truth comes out and Zanne realizes how deeply entangled she’s become in the Stablers’ world, she must decide if the sacrifices she’s made for the job are worth the moral price she has to pay.

Told over the course of a single day and from three fierce perspectives, The Work Wife is a richly observed novel about female ambition, complicity, privilege, and what happens when the brightest of stars aren’t allowed to shine.

The Work Wife by Alison B. Hart