The Truth About Ben and June : A Novel by Alex Kiester

$27.99

Perfect for fans of EVVIE DRAKE STARTS OVER and reminiscent of FATES AND FURIES, this propulsive debut novel explores the complexity of a modern-day marriage and motherhood, when a new mother vanishes one morning, and her husband must retrace events of their recent past to bring her home.

One morning, Ben Gilmore wakes to the sound of his crying baby and quickly realizes that his wife isn’t home. Her suitcase is gone, but there’s no clue to where she’s gone. As he attempts to put the pieces of her disappearance together by questioning her new friends, they mention things he knows nothing about —a mysterious petition, June’s falling out with another mom, her strange fixation on a Greek myth. The more Ben uncovers about his wife, he comes to realize how distant he’s been. And the only way to bring June home, is to understand why she left.

Before Ben and June moved to Maplewood, New Jersey to start their family, June had been a competitive dancer. After an unexpected pregnancy, June decided she wanted to do both – have a career and be a mom. Her own mother, who is now deceased, was also a gifted dancer and made it look easy – she lovingly raised June while opening her own dance studio. But sleep deprived and struggling to keep up with the other Maplewood moms, June wishes she could ask her mom for advice. The more June’s identity as a dancer slips from her grasp, the tighter she holds onto what could have been if she hadn’t walked away from the role of a lifetime as Medea, the lead in a famous ballet. Desperate for guidance, she writes her mother in her journal, hoping for a sign of what she should do next.

Emotional, entertaining, with stunning revelations, The Truth About Ben and June is told through alternating perspectives between husband and wife, as they reckon with their marriage and the distance that has crept between them. With a deeply satisfying ending, The Truth About Ben and June shows that love isn’t something that happens to you; it’s something you must choose every day.

In stock

SKU: 9780778311959 Categories: , , , , ,

Description

Perfect for fans of EVVIE DRAKE STARTS OVER and reminiscent of FATES AND FURIES, this propulsive debut novel explores the complexity of a modern-day marriage and motherhood, when a new mother vanishes one morning, and her husband must retrace events of their recent past to bring her home.

One morning, Ben Gilmore wakes to the sound of his crying baby and quickly realizes that his wife isn’t home. Her suitcase is gone, but there’s no clue to where she’s gone. As he attempts to put the pieces of her disappearance together by questioning her new friends, they mention things he knows nothing about —a mysterious petition, June’s falling out with another mom, her strange fixation on a Greek myth. The more Ben uncovers about his wife, he comes to realize how distant he’s been. And the only way to bring June home, is to understand why she left.

Before Ben and June moved to Maplewood, New Jersey to start their family, June had been a competitive dancer. After an unexpected pregnancy, June decided she wanted to do both – have a career and be a mom. Her own mother, who is now deceased, was also a gifted dancer and made it look easy – she lovingly raised June while opening her own dance studio. But sleep deprived and struggling to keep up with the other Maplewood moms, June wishes she could ask her mom for advice. The more June’s identity as a dancer slips from her grasp, the tighter she holds onto what could have been if she hadn’t walked away from the role of a lifetime as Medea, the lead in a famous ballet. Desperate for guidance, she writes her mother in her journal, hoping for a sign of what she should do next.

Emotional, entertaining, with stunning revelations, The Truth About Ben and June is told through alternating perspectives between husband and wife, as they reckon with their marriage and the distance that has crept between them. With a deeply satisfying ending, The Truth About Ben and June shows that love isn’t something that happens to you; it’s something you must choose every day.

The Truth About Ben and June : A Novel by Alex Kiester