The Last Exiles : A Novel by Ann Shin

$27.99

In stock

SKU: 9780778389415 Categories: , , ,

Description

Set against the backdrop of one of the world’s most secretive regimes, The Last Exiles is a powerful debut novel about a young couple whose love is put to the ultimate test when one of them makes a split-second decision that changes both of their lives forever. A story of love, sacrifice, and belonging, perfect for fans of Lisa See.

“A thought-provoking, poignant and unflinching novel.” —Jean Kwok, New York Times bestselling author of Searching for Sylvie Lee

An unforgettable saga inspired by true events, The Last Exiles is a searing portrait of a young couple in Pyongyang and their fight for love and freedom

Jin and Suja meet and fall in love while studying at university in Pyongyang. She is a young journalist from a prominent family, while he is from a small village of little means. Outside the school, North Korea has fallen under great political upheaval, plunged into chaos and famine. When Jin returns home to find his family starving, their food rations all but gone, he makes a rash decision that will haunt him for the rest of his life.

Meanwhile, miles away, Suja has begun to feel the tenuousness of her privilege when she learns that Jin has disappeared. Risking everything, and defying her family, Suja sets out to find him, embarking on a dangerous journey that leads her into a dark criminal underbelly and tests their love and will to survive.

The Last Exiles : A Novel by Ann Shin
Epilogue BCB

FREE
VIEW