The House of Deep Water by Jeni McFarland

$26.00

Perfect for fans of The Mothers and Olive Kitteridge, in this stunning and perceptive debut novel three women learn what it means to come home—and to make peace with the family, love affairs, and memories they’d once left behind.

In stock

SKU: 9780525542353 Categories: , , ,

Description

“Here are voices from the heartland rendered real, raw, and aching…. Reminiscent of Celeste Ng’s Little Fires Everywhere, this novel announces Jeni McFarland as a writer of our generation.”—Aja Gabel, author of The Ensemble

River Bend, Michigan, is the kind of small town most can’t imagine leaving, but three women couldn’t wait to escape. When each must return—Linda Williams, never sure what she wants; her mother, Paula, always too sure; and Beth DeWitt, one of River Bend’s only black daughters, now a mother of two who’d planned to raise her own children anywhere else—their paths collide under Beth’s father’s roof. As one town struggles to contain all of their love affairs and secrets, a local scandal forces Beth to confront her own devastating past.

Filled with the voices of mothers and daughters, husbands, lovers, and fathers, The House of Deep Water explores motherhood, trauma, love, loss, and new beginnings found in a most unlikely place: home.

The House of Deep Water by Jeni McFarland
Epilogue BCB

FREE
VIEW