The Enchanted by Rene Denfeld

$10.00

A wondrous and redemptive novel for readers of Alice Sebold and Toni Morrison, told from the point of view of an isolated convict whose magical interpretations of prison life allow him to find absolute joy and a female investigator who experiences her own personal salvation in her work. Now available as a limited Olive Edition from Harper Perennial.

In stock

SKU: 9780063036697 Categories: , , , , ,

Description

The enchanted place is a high security prison and is relayed through the eyes of an inmate on death row who escapes his surroundings by immersing himself in books, and by re-imagining the world that surrounds him. Instead of focusing on the cloudy medical vines that snake across the floor, empty and waiting for the warden’s finger to press the red buttons, our narrator sees golden horses as they run deep under the earth, heat flowing like molten metal from their backs.

A woman and fallen priest haunt the prison halls–an unnamed female investigator only known as the Lady who is known for discovering information relating to soon-to-be executed inmates’ backgrounds that can be used to overturn their sentences. She is put on the case of a man named York and as she digs into his past, the experience brings up ghosts of her own.

The Enchanted is a magical novel about redemption, the humanity that can lie within what is monstrous, and the human capacity to transcend and survive.

The Enchanted by Rene Denfeld