The Civil War of Amos Abernathy by Michael Leali

$16.99

Told in an earnest, hilarious voice, this love letter to history, first crushes, and queer community will delight readers who loved The Best at It by Maulik Pancholy or Ivy Aberdeen’s Letter to the World by Ashley Herring Blake.

In stock

SKU: 9780063119864 Categories: , ,

Description

A heartfelt part-epistolary middle grade debut about one boy’s attempt to find himself in the history he loves—perfect for fans of Alex Gino and Julie Murphy.

Amos Abernathy has been a historical reenactor nearly all his life. But when a cute new volunteer arrives at his Living History Park, Amos finds himself wondering if there’s something missing from history. Someone like the two of them.

Amos is sure there must have been LGBTQ+ people in nineteenth-century Illinois. His search turns up Albert D. J. Cashier, a Union soldier who might have identified as a trans man if he’d lived today. Soon Amos starts confiding in his newfound friend by writing letters in his journal—and hatches a plan to share Albert’s story with his divided twenty-first-century town. It may be an uphill battle, but it’s one that Amos is ready to fight.

The Civil War of Amos Abernathy by Michael Leali