Light It Up by Kekla Magoon

$18.99

From the author of the groundbreaking young adult novel How It Went Down comes the story of a second tragedy that rocks the community of Underhill—the police shooting of a young girl.

In stock

SKU: 9781250128898 Categories: , ,

Description

A girl walks home from school. She’s tall for her age. She’s wearing her winter coat. Her headphones are in. She’s hurrying.

She never makes it home.

In the aftermath, while law enforcement tries to justify the response, one fact remains: a police officer has shot and killed an unarmed thirteen-year-old girl. The community is thrown into upheaval, leading to unrest, a growing movement to protest the senseless taking of black lives, and the arrival of white supremacist counter demonstrators.

Told in a series of vignettes from multiple viewpoints, Light It Up is a powerful, layered story about injustice and strength perfect for fans of Jason Reynolds and Angie Thomas—as well as an incredible follow-up to the highly acclaimed 2014 novel How It Went Down.

Light It Up by Kekla Magoon
Epilogue BCB

FREE
VIEW