God of Mercy by Okezie Nwoka

$27.00

This lyrical novel establishes a folklore of the uncolonized in an epic story of gods going to war and a young exiled girl reckoning with her own power and isolation. This book is perfect for readers of Homegoing and Black Leopard, Red Wolf, and explores the rift between tradition and modernity in Africa.

In stock

SKU: 9781662600838 Categories: , , , ,

Description

God of Mercy is set in Ichulu, an Igbo village where the people’s worship of their gods is absolute. Their adherence to tradition has allowed them to evade the influences of colonialism and globalization. But the village is reckoning with changes, including a war between gods signaled by Ijeoma, a girl who can fly.

As tensions grow between Ichulu and its neighboring colonized villages, Ijeoma is forced into exile. Reckoning with her powers and exposed to the world beyond Ichulu, she is imprisoned by a Christian church under the accusation of being a witch. Suffering through isolation, she comes to understand the truth of merciful love.

Reimagining the nature of tradition and cultural heritage and establishing a folklore of the uncolonized, God of Mercy is a novel about wrestling with gods, confronting demons, and understanding one’s true purpose.

God of Mercy by Okezie Nwoka
Epilogue BCB

FREE
VIEW