Dreadnought by April Daniels

$14.99

In the vein of Perry Moore’s Hero, Dreadnought is an action-packed Young Adult debut novel of a trans superhero who must face off against a cyborg villain.

In stock (can be backordered)

SKU: 9781682300688 Categories: , , , , ,

Description

“If you were to ask any trans girl what their superpower of choice would be, many would say shapeshifting. April Daniels took the different route and decided to make her trans superhero, Danny Tozer, a massive flying brick as the titular Dreadnought. While the setup could easily lend itself to a simple power fantasy, April Daniels (herself a trans woman) deftly weaves a story of trans identity. While Danny’s transition is a magical, instantaneous process in the first few chapters, she still faces the all too familiar trials and tribulations that come with being transgender. Danny struggles at home, with her friends (both super and civilian) and where she fits in as a hero, and as a girl. These problems you cannot (or at least should not) simply super-punch away. With a keen awareness of the hero-comic genre, its tropes and general pop culture, Daniels has created an interesting and detailed setting of heroes and villains, with a trans girl as the earth’s mightiest hero.”

-Sylvie

An action-packed series-starter perfect for fans of The Heroine Complex and Not Your Sidekick.

“I didn’t know how much I needed this brave, thrilling book until it rocked my world. Dreadnought is the superhero adventure we all need right now.”—Charlie Jane Anders, author of All the Birds in the Sky

Danny Tozer has a problem: she just inherited the powers of Dreadnought, the world’s greatest superhero. Until Dreadnought fell out of the sky and died right in front of her, Danny was trying to keep people from finding out she’s transgender. But before he expired, Dreadnought passed his mantle to her, and those secondhand superpowers transformed Danny’s body into what she’s always thought it should be. Now there’s no hiding that she’s a girl.

It should be the happiest time of her life, but Danny’s first weeks finally living in a body that fits her are more difficult and complicated than she could have imagined. Between her father’s dangerous obsession with “curing” her girlhood, her best friend suddenly acting like he’s entitled to date her, and her fellow superheroes arguing over her place in their ranks, Danny feels like she’s in over her head.

She doesn’t have time to adjust. Dreadnought’s murderer—a cyborg named Utopia—still haunts the streets of New Port City, threatening destruction. If Danny can’t sort through the confusion of coming out, master her powers, and stop Utopia in time, humanity faces extinction.

Dreadnought by April Daniels