Dominicana by Angie Cruz

$16.99

In the vein of ANOTHER BROOKLYN and AMERICANAH, a novel about a Dominican teenager’s arranged marriage and immigration to New York City, set in the 1960s and inspired by the author’s mother.

In stock

SKU: 9781250205940 Categories: , , , , ,

Description

Our Bookseller says:

“One of those books you don’t put down until you finish it, not because the plot is fast-paced or high concept, but because you are so deeply invested in the characters and their outcomes. We follow Ana, a fifteen-year-old girl married off to a much older man, as she must learn about a certain kind of life in America. Her view of the world is narrow, widening and winnowing again with her curiosity and the consequences of it. This coming-of-age exists on the fine line between struggle and family, sacrifice and love. Ana’s entire existence is precarious, teetering on choices – many of them not her own. Cruz’s commitment to reality shines through each scene, none stronger than the book’s ending.” – Miranda

Similar: Girls Burn Brighter by Shobha Rao

Pair it with: Prayers for the Stolen by Jennifer Clement or Telling Border Life Stories: Four Mexican American Women Writers by Donna M Kabalen de Bichara

Dominicana by Angie Cruz