A Wolf Called Wander by Rosanne Parry

$7.99

In stock

SKU: 9780062895943 Categories: , ,

Description

A New York Times bestseller and Top Ten Indie Next Pick. This gripping novel about survival and family is based on the real story of one wolf’s incredible journey to find a safe place to call home. Illustrated throughout, this irresistible tale by award-winning author Rosanne Parry is for fans of Sara Pennypacker’s Pax. Newbery Medalist Katherine Applegate says, “Don’t miss this dazzling tour de force.”

Swift, a young wolf cub, lives with his pack in the mountains learning to hunt, competing with his brothers and sisters for hierarchy, and watching over a new litter of cubs. Then a rival pack attacks, and Swift and his family scatter. Alone and scared, Swift must flee and find a new home. His journey takes him a remarkable one thousand miles across the Pacific Northwest. The trip is full of peril, and Swift encounters forest fires, hunters, highways, and hunger before he finds his new home.

The New York Times proclaimed “Rosanne Parry evokes the Pacific Northwest with lilting, sensory-driven ambient details.” Inspired by the extraordinary true story of a wolf named OR-7 (or Journey), this irresistible tale of survival invites readers to experience and imagine what it would be like to be one of the most misunderstood animals on Earth. This gripping and appealing novel about family, courage, loyalty, and the natural world is for fans of Jack London’s White Fang and Katherine Applegate’s The One and Only Ivan.

Includes black-and-white illustrations throughout and a map, as well as information about the real wolf who inspired the novel.

A Wolf Called Wander by Rosanne Parry
Epilogue BCB

FREE
VIEW