Variation #57873 of A Lullaby for Witches by Hester Fox

$16.99

From the author of The Witch of Willow Hall comes a deeply atmospheric new novel about a young museum worker, Augusta, who stumbles across a mysterious woman written out of the historical record. When this woman begins to call to Augusta across the centuries in strange and impossible ways–and may have dark intentions–Augusta must solve the mystery of the woman’s identity, and her fate, before it’s too late. Perfect for fans of THE ONCE AND FUTURE WITCHES and THE CLOCKMAKER’S DAUGHTER.

In stock

SKU: 9781525804694 Categories: , , , , ,

Description

Our Bookseller says:

Don’t you just hate when your great- great- ancestor possesses you and makes out with your boyfriend? Same. Sweet Augusta finally lands her dream job, and the hottie down the hall is icing on the cake, but she never expected her dream job would come with so many… hallucinations? Readers will enjoying watching Augusta grow into herself, but the horrors of her family’s past (their ties to a Salem witch) will come back to haunt her- literally. – Laney

Augusta Podos has just landed her dream job, working in collections at a local museum, Harlowe House, located in the charming seaside town of Tynemouth, Massachussetts. Determined to tell the stories of the local community, she throws herself into her work–and finds an oblique mention of a mysterious woman, Margaret, who may have been part of the Harlowe family, but is reduced to a footnote. Fascinated by this strange omission, Augusta becomes obsessed with discovering who Margaret was, what happened to her, and why her family scrubbed her from historical records. But as she does, strange incidents begin plaguing Harlowe House and Augusta herself. Are they connected with Margaret, and what do they mean?

Tynemouth, 1872. Margaret Harlowe is the beautiful daughter of a wealthy shipping family, and she should have many prospects–but her fascination with herbs and spellwork has made her a pariah, with whispers of “witch” dogging her steps. Increasingly drawn to the darker, forbidden practices of her craft, Margaret finds herself caught up with a local man, Jack Pryce, and the temptation of these darker ways threatens to pull her under completely.

As the incidents in the present day escalate, Augusta finds herself drawn more and more deeply into Margaret’s world, and a shocking revelation sheds further light on Margaret and Augusta’s shared past. And as Margaret’s sinister purpose becomes clear, Augusta must uncover the secret of Margaret’s fate–before the woman who calls to her across the centuries claims Augusta’s own life.

Variation #57873 of A Lullaby for Witches by Hester Fox