1. In The Key of Us by Mariama J. Lockington

From the author of For Black Girls Like Me, which received five starred reviews and multiple accolades, comes a middle-grade novel about first love, loss, and letting go.

2. Paola Santiago and the Sanctuary of Shadows by Tehlor Kay Mejia

Tehlor Kay Mejia’s third exciting journey into Mexican folklore has our lovable, intrepid protagonist making discoveries both wondrous and fearsome. Presented by Rick Riordan, author of Percy Jackson, soon to be a series on Disney+. Book 3 in the Paola Santiago series.

3. Lia Park and the Missing Jewel by Jenna Yoon

Perfect for fans of A Storm Runner series and Aru Shah series, this “intriguing, fast-paced” (Kirkus Reviews) middle grade fantasy follows a young girl who must venture to the undersea kingdom of the Dragon King in Korea to save her parents from an evil diviner spirit.

4. The Marvellers by Dhonielle Clayton

Bestselling author Dhonielle Clayton’s middle-grade debut is a fantasy adventure set in a magic school that celebrates cultural traditions from around the world, for fans of Rick Riordan and Soman Chainani.

5. Zachary Ying and the Dragon Emperor by Xiran Jay Zhao

Percy Jackson meets Tristan Strong in this hilarious, action-packed middle grade contemporary fantasy that follows a young boy as he journeys across China to seal the underworld shut and save the mortal realm.

6. Aru Shah and the Nectar of Immortality by Roshani Chokshi

Best-selling author Rick Riordan presents the breathtaking conclusion to Roshani Chokshi’s New York Times best-selling Pandava quintet. Will the Sleeper gain immortality or be stopped once and for all?

7. Wildseed Witch by Marti Dumas

A fun middle-grade contemporary fantasy with an all-BIPOC cast, about a social-media-loving tween who gets sent to an ultra-private witch camp.

8. Cookies & Milk by Shawn Amos

It’s a summer of family, friendship, and fun fiascos in this semi-autobiographical novel that’s as irresistible as a fresh-baked cookie.

Holiday Gift Guide 2022: Middle Grade
Tagged on:     

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.