HOLIDAY-GIFT-GUIDE-BAR_thumb1_thumb_[1]_thumb_thumb_thumb

FOR THE PERSON WHO IS READY TO HIBERNATE

1. Devotions by Mary Oliver

Pulitzer Prize-winning poet Mary Oliver’s personal selection of her best work, in this definitive collection spanning more than five decades of her esteemed literary career.

2. Wintering: The Power of Rest and Retreat in Difficult Times by Katherine May

An intimate, revelatory book exploring the ways we can care for and repair ourselves when life knocks us down.Ultimately Wintering invites us to change how we relate to our own fallow times. May models an active acceptance of sadness and finds nourishment in deep retreat, joy in the hushed beauty of winter, and encouragement in understanding life as cyclical, not linear.

3. Circe by Madeline Miller

With unforgettably vivid characters, mesmerizing language, and page-turning suspense, Circe is a triumph of storytelling, an intoxicating epic of family rivalry, palace intrigue, love and loss, as well as a celebration of indomitable female strength in a man’s world.

4. The City We Became by N.K. Jemisin

Three-time Hugo Award-winning and New York Times bestselling author N.K. Jemisin crafts her most incredible novel yet, a story of culture, identity, magic, and myths in contemporary New York City.

5. Lakewood by Megan Giddings

A startling debut about class and race, Lakewood evokes a terrifying world of medical experimentation—part The Handmaid’s Tale, part The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks.

6. Latitudes of Longing by Shubhangi Swarup

A sweeping, lyrical debut about the love and longing between humanity and the earth itself, by a major new literary talent from India.

7. Conjure Women by Afia Atakora

A dazzling debut novel that sweeps across eras and generations to tell the story of a mother and daughter with a shared talent for healing—and the conjuring of curses.

8. Beneath The Ice Fish Like Souls Look Alike: A Poem by Emilia Phillips

In her latest collection, the fiercely gifted Emilia Phillips offers a breviary of film noir kōans (‘public cases’) that interrogate, singly and collectively, what John Keats called the ‘vale of soul-making.’ (Lisa Russ Sparr)

9. Trouble the Saints by Alaya Dawn Johnson

A dangerous, dazzling story of New York City and the exchange of power—think HBO’s Boardwalk Empire, with the fantastical allure of The Night Circus, as written by James Baldwin.The dangerous magic of The Night Circus meets the powerful historical exploration of The Underground Railroad in this timely and unsettling novel, set against the darkly glamorous backdrop of New York City, where an assassin tries to fight her fate at the dawn of World War II.

10. A Wild Winter Swan by Gregory Maguire

After brilliantly reimagining the worlds of Oz, Wonderland, Dickensian London, and the Nutcracker, the New York Times bestselling author of Wicked turns his unconventional genius to Hans Christian Andersen’s “The Wild Swans,” transforming this classic tale into an Italian-American girl’s poignant coming-of-age story, set amid the magic of Christmas in 1960s New York.

11. The Water Dancer by Ta-Nehisi Coates

A boldly imagined work of magic and adventure from the National Book Award-winning author of Between the World and Me. This is a bracingly original vision of the world of slavery, written with the narrative force of a great adventure. Driven by the author’s bold imagination and striking ability to bring readers deep into the interior lives of his brilliantly rendered characters, The Water Dancer is the story of America’s oldest struggle—the struggle to tell the truth—from one of our most exciting thinkers and beautiful writers.

12. Daughters of the Wild by Natalka Burian

Naomi Alderman’s THE POWER meets Chloe Benjamin’s THE IMMORTALISTS in Natalka Burian’s gripping debut novel following a young woman who learns how to harness a fierce new power to break free of her foster family and protect her son.

13. The Luminaries by Eleanor Catton

Winner of the 2013 Man Booker Prize, a breathtaking feat of storytelling where everything is connected, but nothing is as it seems. It is 1866, and Walter Moody has come to make his fortune upon the New Zealand goldfields. On the stormy night of his arrival, he stumbles across a tense gathering of twelve local men, who have met in secret to discuss a series of unsolved crimes. A wealthy man has vanished, a prostitute has tried to end her life, and an enormous fortune has been discovered in the home of a luckless drunk. Moody is soon drawn into the mystery: a network of fates and fortunes that is as complex and exquisitely patterned as the night sky.

14. Black Sun by Rebecca Roanhorse

From the New York Times bestselling author of Star Wars: Resistance Reborn comes the first book in the Between Earth and Sky trilogy, inspired by the civilizations of the Pre-Columbian Americas and woven into a tale of celestial prophecies, political intrigue, and forbidden magic.

15. Hiddensee by Gregory Maguire

Gregory Maguire returns with an inventive novel inspired by a timeless holiday legend, intertwining the story of the famous Nutcracker with the life of the mysterious toy maker named Drosselmeier who carves him.

16. The Invisible Life of Addie LaRue by V. E. Schwab

In the vein of The Time Traveler’s Wife and Life After Life, The Invisible Life of Addie LaRue is New York Times bestselling author V. E. Schwab’s genre-defying tour de force.

HOLIDAY 2020 GIFT GUIDE: READY TO HIBERNATE
Tagged on:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *