HOLIDAY-GIFT-GUIDE-BAR_thumb1_thumb_thumb

FOR THE PERSON WHOSE TBR PILE IS NEVER FEWER THAN 10 BOOKS TALL

1. Memorial by Bryan Washington

What happens when a love story collides with the limits of love—and everyone has an opinion?

2. Catrachos by Roy G. Guzmán

Part immigration narrative, part elegy, and part queer coming-of-age story, Catrachos finds its own religion in fantastic figures such as the X-Men, pop singers, and the “Queerodactyl,” which is imagined in a series of poems as a dinosaur sashaying in the shadow of an oncoming comet, insistent on surviving extinction. With exceptional energy, humor, and inventiveness, Guzmán’s debut is a devastating display of lyrical and moral complexity—an introduction to an immediately captivating, urgently needed voice.

3. Jack by Marilynne Robinson

The winner of the Pulitzer Prize and the National Humanities Medal returns to the world of Gilead with Jack, the final installment in one of the greatest works of contemporary American fiction.

4. Sisters by Daisy Johnson

From a Booker Prize finalist and international literary star: a blazing portrait of one darkly riveting sibling relationship, from the inside out.

5. White Ivy by Susie Yang

A young woman’s crush on a privileged classmate becomes a story of love, lies, and dark obsession, offering stark insights into the immigrant experience, as it hurtles to its electrifying ending.

6. Earthlings by Sayaka Murata

From the beloved author of cult sensation Convenience Store Woman, which has now sold more than one million copies worldwide and has been translated into thirty-three languages, comes a spellbinding and otherworldly novel about a woman who believes she is an alien.

7. Nights When Nothing Happened: A Novel by Simon Han

A little girl’s sleepwalking odysseys trigger a chain reaction that threatens to undo the fragile stability of her immigrant family.

8. Piranesi by Susanna Clarke

From the New York Times bestselling author of Jonathan Strange & Mr Norrell, an intoxicating, hypnotic new novel set in a dreamlike alternative reality.

9. The Selected Works of Audre Lorde ed. by Roxane Gay

A definitive selection of Audre Lorde’s “intelligent, fierce, powerful, sensual, provocative, indelible” (Roxane Gay) prose and poetry, for a new generation of readers.

10. Anxious People by Fredrik Backman

From the #1 New York Times bestselling author of A Man Called Ove and “writer of astonishing depth” (The Washington Times) comes a poignant, charming novel about a crime that never took place, a would-be bank robber who disappears into thin air, and eight extremely anxious strangers who find they have more in common than they ever imagined.

11. His Only Wife by Peace Adzo Medie

His Only Wife is a witty, smart, and moving debut novel about a brave young woman traversing the minefield of modern life with its taboos and injustices, living in a world of men who want their wives to be beautiful, to be good cooks and mothers, to be women who respect their husbands and grant them forbearance. And in Afi, Peace Medie has created a delightfully spunky and relatable heroine who just may break all the rules.

12. Migrations: A Novel by Charlotte McConaghy

For readers of Station Eleven and Everything I Never Told You, a debut novel set on the brink of catastrophe, as a young woman chases the world’s last birds—and her own final chance for redemption.

13. Dearly by Margaret Atwood

Margaret Atwood’s first collection of poetry in over a decade addresses themes such as love, loss, the passage of time, the nature of nature and – zombies.

14. Transcendent Kingdom by Yaa Gyasi

Yaa Gyasi’s stunning follow-up to her acclaimed national best seller Homegoing is a powerful, raw, intimate, deeply layered novel about a Ghanaian family in Alabama.

15. Things You Would Know if You Grew Up Around Here by Nancy Wayson Dinan

Set during the devastating Memorial Day floods in Texas, a surreal, empathetic novel for readers of Station Eleven and The Age of Miracles.

HOLIDAY 2020 GIFT GUIDE: BIBLIOPHILE
Tagged on:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *